God Promises Abraham a Son

Genesis 15:1-6

Some time later, the Lord spoke to Abram in a vision and said to him, “Do not be afraid, Abram, for I will protect you, and your reward will be great.”

But Abram replied, “O Sovereign Lord, what good are all your blessings when I don’t even have a son? Since you’ve given me no children, Eliezer of Damascus, a servant in my household, will inherit all my wealth.

You have given me no descendants of my own, so one of my servants will be my heir.”

Then the Lord said to him, “No, your servant will not be your heir, for you will have a son of your own who will be your heir.”

Then the Lord took Abram outside and said to him, “Look up into the sky and count the stars if you can. That’s how many descendants you will have!”

And Abram believed the Lord, and the Lord counted him as righteous because of his faith.

In the previous chapter, Abram had rescued his nephew Lot and had met with the kings from the neighboring countries to give back to them what had been stolen. However, when they tried to give to him a reward for his rescue, Abram told them that he would accept nothing, but what had been eaten by his men and the share that belonged to the men that went with him. The next recorded scripture is this passage.

God appears to Abram in a vision and tells Abram that He is a shield and an exceeding great reward. Note Abram’s response. “O Sovereign Lord, what good are all your blessings when I don’t even have a son? Since you’ve given me no children, Eliezer of Damascus, a servant in my household, will inherit all my wealth.” I just have to chuckle here. God tells Abram pretty much how lucky he is and Abram’s response is…a complaint. A complaint about the one thing that Abram wants. Abram’s focus isn’t on all that God has given him, but on the one thing that He hasn’t. Maybe I’m just talking to myself here, but I’ve been there and have done that!

Now God could have responded in a very different way, but He chooses to respond with love…“No, your servant will not be your heir, for you will have a son of your own who will be your heir.” God then brings Abram out of his tent and tells him him to look up at the stars. He says, “…tell the stars, if thou be able to number them: and he said unto him, So shall thy seed be.”

Now, here’s the kicker. Look at the next verse recorded.

And Abram believed the Lord, and the Lord counted him as righteous because of his faith.

Abram believed in God so much that it was counted to him for righteousness. This is where I have to take a step back and ask myself some soul searching questions. How does my faith stand up to someone’s like Abraham’s? Do I truly trust God when He speaks to me? Do I follow Him despite how foolish it looks or sounds?

This is what God has called us to be. To trust Him so much that we literally give Him our lives. See, I can relate with Abraham whining about what he doesn’t have, because to be honest…I do that daily. But when God speaks to me and tells me what He has planned…do I really trust Him?

Prayer for the day:

Help me to stop doubting You. Help me to surrender myself to you fully rather than focusing on myself. Help me to lose myself in You.

Leave a Reply

